Checklist for Minors Applying
for Statement of Age/Working Papers
If the answers to all of the above questions are
"YES", take your "promise of employment" and proof of age and go
to the public high school in your town, or contact your
Superintendent of Schools. You MUST have working papers
before you start work.
Are you at least 16 years old (15 years old for
retail establishments during vacation weeks)?
Do you have an employer's written promise of
Do you have proof of age such as a birth
certificate, baptismal certificate, or passport?
Do you have your Social Security card?
Is the job permitted for your age according to
Is the industry permitted for your age according
to Connecticut's laws/regulations?
Are the time and hours of work permitted by law?
Checklist for the
Employment of Minors in the State of Connecticut |
return to FAQs For Minors