Reference Guide -
Standard Wage Rates for Certain Service Workers
Summary of Connecticut's Service Worker Law Statute 31-57f
Section 31-57f of the
Connecticut General Statutes provides for the setting of standard wage rates
for certain service workers.
Coverage: On or
after July 1, 2000 each contract or agreement entered into with the state or
any state agent for the provision of food, building, property or equipment
services shall have standard wage rates determined by the Labor
Commissioner. These rates only affect those contracts or agreements
more than $49,999.00. However, any employer that pays the state for a
franchise to provide food preparation or service shall pay the standard wage
rates regardless of costs.
Standard Wage Rates:
The Labor Commissioner shall establish the standard rate of wages for each
classification for all hourly non supervisory employees by adopting the
minimum hourly wages set forth in the federal Register of Wage
Determinations under the Service Contract Act, plus a thirty percent
surcharge to cover the cost of any health, welfare or retirement plans.
Obtaining Wage Rates:
Each state agent empowered to let such contract shall contact the Labor
Commissioner at least ten days prior to the date such contract will be
advertised for bid.
Upon written request of the contracting state agent each required employer
shall submit a certified payroll established in a form and manner by the
Labor Commissioner. Such records shall relate to the wages and hours
worked by each employee and a schedule of the occupation or work
classification at which each person is employed. A statement will also
be required to be signed by the employer that the records are correct, the
rate of wages paid to each employee is not less than the standard rate of
wages, such employer has complied with the law, and filing a false certified
payroll is a Class D Felony.
required employer who violates the requirements to pay a standard wage rate
shall pay a civil penalty in an amount not less than $2,500.00 but not more
than $5,000.00 for each offense. The contracting department of state
shall impose the penalty and take steps to collect the fine. The Labor
Commissioner may make complaint to the proper prosecuting authorities for
the violation of paying a standard wage rate. Penalties may also be
of the Connecticut General Statutes.
(a) As used in this section: (1) “Required employer” means any provider of
food, building, property or equipment services or maintenance listed in this
subdivision whose rate of reimbursement or compensation is determined by
contract or agreement with the state or any of its agents: (A) Building,
property or equipment service companies; (B) management companies providing
property management services; and (C) companies providing food preparation
or service, or both; (2) “agent” means any state official, state employee or
other person authorized to enter into a contract or agreement on behalf of
the state; (3) “person” means one or more individuals, partnerships,
associations, corporations, business trusts, legal representatives or
organized groups of persons; and (4) “building, property or equipment
service” means any janitorial, cleaning, maintenance or related service.
return to table of contents