Connecticut Department of Labor, Partner of the American Job Center Network
  Home About Us FAQ News and Notices Contact Us
Unemployment Benefits On-Line Job Seekers Employers Labor Market Information Directions/Office Information



Employee Complaint Forms


Employer Forms


Manuals and Publications


Prevailing Wages


Standard Wage Rates


Workplace Standards


Employment of Minors




Joint Enforcement
Commission For Worker Misclassification


Stop Work Orders


Contact Us

Quick Reference to Standard Wage Rates for Certain Service Workers
Summary of Connecticut General Statute 31-57f

Summary of Connecticut's Service Worker Law

Section 31-57f of the Connecticut General Statutes provides for the setting of standard wage rates for certain service workers.

  • Coverage: On or after July 1, 2000 each contract or agreement entered into with the state or any state agent for the provision of food, building, property or equipment services shall have standard wage rates determined by the Labor Commissioner. These rates only affect those contracts or agreements more than $49,999.00. However, any employer that pays the state for a franchise to provide food preparation or service shall pay the standard wage rates regardless of costs.

  • Standard Wage Rates: The Labor Commissioner shall establish the standard rate of wages for each classification for all hourly non supervisory employees by adopting the minimum hourly wages set forth in the federal Register of Wage Determinations under the Service Contract Act, plus a thirty percent surcharge to cover the cost of any health, welfare or retirement plans.

  • Obtaining Wage Rates: Each state agent empowered to let such contract shall contact the Labor Commissioner at least ten days prior to the date such contract will be advertised for bid.

  • Certified Payrolls: Upon written request of the contracting state agent each required employer shall submit a certified payroll established in a form and manner by the Labor Commissioner. Such records shall relate to the wages and hours worked by each employee and a schedule of the occupation or work classification at which each person is employed. A statement will also be required to be signed by the employer that the records are correct, the rate of wages paid to each employee is not less than the standard rate of wages, such employer has complied with the law, and filing a false certified payroll is a Class D Felony.

  • Penalties: Any required employer who violates the requirements to pay a standard wage rate shall pay a civil penalty in an amount not less than $2,500.00 but not more than $5,000.00 for each offense. The contracting department of state shall impose the penalty and take steps to collect the fine. The Labor Commissioner may make complaint to the proper prosecuting authorities for the violation of paying a standard wage rate. Penalties may also be assessed under 31-59 and 31- 69 the Connecticut General Statutes.

  • Definitions: 1. (a) As used in this section: (1) "Required employer" means any provider of food, building, property or equipment services or maintenance listed in this subdivision whose rate of reimbursement or compensation is determined by contract or agreement with the state or any of its agents: (A) Building, property or equipment service companies; (B) management companies providing property management services; and (C) companies providing food preparation or service, or both; (2) "agent" means any state official, state employee or other person authorized to enter into a contract or agreement on behalf of the state; (3) "person" means one or more individuals, partnerships, associations, corporations, business trusts, legal representatives or organized groups of persons; and (4) "building, property or equipment service" means any janitorial, cleaning, maintenance or related service.

return to table of contents

200 Folly Brook Boulevard, Wethersfield, CT 06109 / Phone: 860-263-6000

Home | Home | Send Feedback
State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright 2002 - present year