Connecticut Department of Labor
  Home About Us FAQ News and Notices Contact Us
Unemployment Benefits On-Line Job Seekers Employers Labor Market Information Directions/Office Information

 

Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) Under 2021 Reversion

Worker Collage

All petitions filed and certified on or after July 1, 2021, will be administered under the rules of Trade Act Reversion 2021, which differ from previous amendments to the Act, including 2002, 2009, 2011 and 2015. This web page is specifically geared toward Reversion. Please note, some of the pages and links on this web site may or may not apply to Reversion. If you are found to be eligible under Reversion, a TAA representative will help determine which rules, forms and other information apply to you.

For additional information on Reversion 2021, please visit the US Department of Labor website at: https://www.dol.gov/agencies/eta/tradeact

TAA Program Benefits Overview Materials

Workers found eligible for TAA are required to read and view the following materials as instructed in your eligibility letter received by mail.

These forms are available for those workers already found TAA eligible. They can be completed and returned to your assigned TAA counselor.


Key Provisions of 2021 Reversion
  • Effective with petitions filed and certifications made on or after July 1, 2021.
  • Only manufacturing companies can be certified.
  • Reversion rules are only applicable to petition numbers 98,000 and above.
  • The enrollment date deadline to either be in approved training or placed on a wavier in order to be eligible for income support payments (TRA) is the later of 8 weeks from the certification date or 16 weeks from the separation date (8/16 deadline).
  • 130-week maximum allowed for approved training, including apprenticeship training. On-the-job training maximum is 104 weeks.
  • Part time training is allowable and if otherwise eligible, so is TRA for part time training.
  • Incumbent worker training is not available.
  • There are three levels of TRA: Basic, Additional and Completion.
  • The 3 waivers of training allowable, include, Health, Training Unavailable and Training not Available.
  • Must file a bona fide application for TAA training within 210 days after the date the certification date of the petition or, if later, within 210 days after the date the workers was separated from employment.
  • The first payable week of TRA cannot be made prior to 60 days from the date the petition is filed.
  • There is no earnings disregard and the TRA option is not available.
  • There is a 45-day extenuating circumstances available to extend the training enrollment deadline.

CT.jobs

Be sure to register on CTHires. Itís required to receive Trade Act Services! 

 


200 Folly Brook Boulevard, Wethersfield, CT 06109 / Phone: 860-263-6000

Home | 
CT.gov Home Send Feedback
State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright 2002 - present year