Reminder: Connecticut’s Minimum Wage
Increases to $8.70 on Jan. 1
December 13, 2013 – Connecticut’s minimum wage will increase to
$8.70 per hour as of January 1, 2014, State Labor Commissioner
Sharon Palmer reminds all state residents. The current minimum
wage is $8.25 an hour.
“This increase to $8.70 is the first part of a
two-year increase in the minimum wage,” Palmer explains. “On
January 1, 2015, in accordance with Public Act 13-117,
Connecticut’s minimum wage will increase to $9.00.”
Although the federal minimum wage is currently
$7.25, Connecticut businesses must pay the state minimum wage,
emphasizes Gary K. Pechie, Director of the agency’s Division of
Wage and Workplace Standards.
Under section 31-60 of the Connecticut General
Statutes and Public Act 13-117, the Connecticut minimum wage
rate for service employees, specifically restaurant wait staff
and bartenders, is determined by using a formula that takes tip
deductions into account. The rates can be found on the
Connecticut Department of Labor’s website at
or by contacting the Labor Department’s Division of Wage and
Workplace Standards at (860) 263-6790.
Nancy Steffens (860)