Connecticut Department of Labor
  Home About Us FAQ News and Notices Contact Us
Unemployment Benefits On-Line Job Seekers Employers Labor Market Information Directions/Office Information

 

  CT PUA
Esta página en español

 
 
Connecticut Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA)

On March 27, 2020, the CARES Act was signed into law, which includes the Relief for Workers Affected by Coronavirus Act set out in Title II, Subtitle A.

Section 2102 of the CARES Act creates a new temporary federal program called Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) that in general provides up to 39 weeks of unemployment benefits, and provides funding to states for the administration of the program.


PUA Quick Links:
On December 27, 2020 the Continued Assistance for Unemployed Workers Act of 2020 was signed into law, known as CARES Act extension. The CARES Act extension adds 11 additional weeks to PUA, totaling 50 weeks of benefits. However, the additional 11 weeks can only be used from December 27, 2020 onward.

On March 11, 2021, the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 was signed into law. ARPA adds 29 additional weeks to PUA, totaling 79 weeks of benefits, and extended the duration of PUA through September 4, 2021. The legislation further stipulated that the additional 29 weeks can only be used from March 14, 2021 onward.

PUA provides benefits to covered individuals, who are those individuals not eligible for regular unemployment compensation or extended benefits under state or Federal law or pandemic emergency unemployment compensation (PEUC), including those who have exhausted all rights to such benefits. Covered individuals also include self-employed, those seeking part-time employment, individuals lacking sufficient work history, and those who otherwise do not qualify for regular unemployment compensation or extended benefits under state or Federal law or PEUC.


PUA provides up to 79 weeks of benefits (weeks individuals have received from regular Unemployment Compensation or Extended Benefits after 2/2/2020 are subtracted from the 79 weeks) to qualifying individuals who are otherwise able to work and available for work within the meaning of applicable state UC law, except that they are unemployed, partially unemployed, or unable or unavailable to work due to COVID-19 related reasons.

 


200 Folly Brook Boulevard, Wethersfield, CT 06109 / Phone: 860-263-6000

Home | 
CT.gov Home Send Feedback
State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright 2002 - present year