basic Information for
Employers about Connecticut's Wage and Hour Laws*
Connecticut Department of Labor
Wage and Workplace Standards Division
Payroll Pal 96-002
*These laws apply in an employer-employee
This information should only be considered a guide
and not a substitute for specific statutes and regulations. Please contact the
Wage and Workplace Standards Division at (860) 263-6790 or
for further assistance. Note: Most employers are subject to coverage
under both the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act and Connecticut's minimum wage
laws (Title 31 Chapter 558 Part I and II of the Connecticut General Statutes).
The employer must comply with the laws that provide the higher standard for
An employer should be
aware of the following requirements:
Connecticut's minimum wage:
$8.70 per hour.
Connecticut's Overtime Pay.
Each employer shall pay 1-1/2 times the employee's
regular rate of pay after 40 hours in the workweek. Overtime pay is due
for actual hours worked over 40.
Connecticut's Record-Keeping Requirements.
Please refer to Connecticut General Statutes, 31-58,
31-58a, 31-76b, 31-76c, 31-76i and 31-66.
Wage Payment Requirements.
Each employer shall pay weekly all moneys due
each employee on a regular payday, designated in
advance by the employer in cash or negotiable
check or upon the employee's written request, by
credit to such employee's bank account.
The employer shall pay an employee who
voluntarily terminates or is laid off on the
next regular payday. If an employee is
discharged all wages are due the next business
Withholding of Wages.
No employer may withhold or divert any
portion of an employee's wages unless required
or empowered by state or federal law, the
employer has written authorization from the
employee on a form approved by the Labor
Commissioner, or for a medical premium or
to Furnish Certain Information.
Each employer shall advise his employees in
writing, at the time of hiring, the rate of
remuneration hours of employment and wage
payment schedules and make available to his
employees either in writing or through a posted
notice, any employment practices and policies or
change therein with regard to wages, vacation
pay, sick leave, health and welfare benefits and
of Weekly Pay Requirement.
The Labor Commissioner may, upon
application, permit the employer to establish
pay days less frequently than weekly.
Regulations for Specific Industries.
The Administrative Regulations cover all other
industries and occupations.
You may obtain posters free of charge by
writing to the Connecticut Labor Department, Wage & Workplace Standards
Division, 200 Folly Brook Blvd., Wethersfield, CT 06109.