Connecticut Department of Labor, Partner of the American Job Center Network
  Home About Us FAQ News and Notices Contact Us
Unemployment Benefits On-Line Job Seekers Employers Labor Market Information Directions/Office Information

 

 

Employee Complaint Forms

 

Employer Forms

 

Laws/Legislation

 

Manuals and Publications

 

Compliance Assistance

 

Prevailing Wages

 

Standard Wage Rates

 

Workplace Standards

 

Employment of Minors

 

FMLA

 

Joint Enforcement Commission For Worker Misclassification (JEC)

 

Stop Work Orders

 

Activities

 

FAQs

 

Newsroom

 

Contact Us

 
History of Minimum Wage Rates
 
  • July 1, 1951 - $0.75
  • October 1, 1957 - $1.00
  • October 1, 1961 - $1.15
  • October 1, 1963 - $1.25
  • July 1, 1967 - $1.40
  • July 1, 1968 - $1.60
  • April 19, 1971 - $1.61
  • October 1, 1971 - $1.85
  • May 1, 1974 - $1.91
  • May 1, 1974 - $2.01- FLSA PRIOR TO 1966
  • January 1, 1975 - $2.01
  • January 1, 1975 - $2.11- FLSA 1966
  • January 1, 1976 - $2.21
  • January 1, 1976 - $2.31-FLSA 1966
  • January 1, 1977 - $2.31-ALL
  • January 1, 1978 - $2.66
  • January 1, 1979 - $2.91
  • January 1, 1980 - $3.12
  • January 1, 1981 - $3.37
  • October 1, 1987 - $3.75
  • October 1, 1988 - $4.25
  • April 1, 1991 - $4.27
  • October 1, 1996 - $4.77
  • September 1, 1997 - $5.18
  • January 1, 1999 - $5.65
  • January 1, 2000 - $6.15
  • January 1, 2001 - $6.40
  • January 1, 2002 - $6.70
  • January 1, 2003 - $6.90
  • January 1, 2004 - $7.10
  • January 1, 2006 - $7.40
  • January 1, 2007 - $7.65
  • January 1, 2009 - $8.00
  • January 1, 2010 - $8.25
  • January 1, 2014 - $8.70
  • January 1, 2015 - $9.00
GRATUITY ALLOWANCE FOR SERVICE EMPLOYEES IN THE RESTAURANT INDUSTRY
 
  • 1951 - $.30
  • December 8, 1958 - $.35
  • 1961 - $.40
  • May 1, 1964 - $.45
  • July 1,1967 - $.47
  • July 1, 1968 - $.50
  • September 3, 1974 - $.54
  • January 1, 1975 - $.60
  • January 1, 1981 - $.78 - 23% of minimum wage
  • October 1, 1987 - $.86
  • October 1, 1988 - $.98
  • September 1, 1997 - $1.19
  • January 1, 1999 - $1.30
  • January 1, 2000 - $1.41
  • January 1, 2001 - 1.66 (see #1 below)
  • January 1, 2002 - $1.96 (see #2 below)
  • January 1, 2003 - $2.02 (see #2 below)
  • January 1, 2004 - $2.08 (see #2 below)
  • January 1, 2006 - $2.17 (see #2 below)
  • January 1, 2007 - $2.24 (see #2 below)
  • January 1, 2009 - $2.48 (see #3 below)
  • January 1, 2010 - $2.56 (see #3 below)
  • January 1, 2014 - $5.69 (see #4 below)
  • January 1, 2015 - $5.69 (see #5 below)
    First Overtime Wage Provision - P.A. 683 - 1959 Legislature

 

  1. 26% of the minimum wage
  2. 29.3% of the minimum wage
  3. 31% of the minimum wage
  4. 34.6% of the minimum wage
  5. 36.8% of the minimum wage
 


200 Folly Brook Boulevard, Wethersfield, CT 06109 / Phone: 860-263-6000

Home | 
CT.gov Home Send Feedback<%end if%><%if cbool (request.Cookies(Application("HOME_NAME"))("AA"))=true and request.Cookies(Application("HOME_NAME"))("CA")<>"CF83CBC7" then call Session_WriteString(" | Admin") end if%>
State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright 2002 - 2011 State of Connecticut