Connecticut Department of Labor, Partner of the American Job Center Network
  Home About Us FAQ News and Notices Contact Us
Unemployment Benefits On-Line Job Seekers Employers Labor Market Information Directions/Office Information

 

 

Employee Complaint Forms

 

Employer Forms

 

Laws/Legislation

 

Manuals and Publications

 

Compliance Assistance

 

Prevailing Wages

 

Standard Wage Rates

 

Workplace Standards

 

Employment of Minors

 

FMLA

 

Joint Enforcement Commission For Worker Misclassification (JEC)

 

Stop Work Orders

 

Reports of Activities

 

FAQs

 

Newsroom

 

Contact Us

   
EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS
Employers' Checklist for Employment of Minors
  • Statement of Age/Working Papers (obtained by minors from most local public high schools with the employer's written promise of employment and the minor's proof of age)
  • Time & Hour Restrictions
  • Is it a Permitted Occupation for minor's age?
  • Is it a Permitted Industry for minor's age?
  • Do you provide at least a 30 minute meal period if the minor works seven and one-half (7 1/2) hours or more?
  • Do you pay wages at least equal to the state and federal minimum wage rates?
  • Do you maintain payroll records (3 years) and personnel files (1 year following separation)?
  • Do you provide employees with a "hiring agreement" stating the employees' hours of employment, rate of pay, wage payment schedule and vacation, sick, and health & welfare benefit information?
Checklist for the Employment of Minors in the State of Connecticut | return to FAQs For Employers


200 Folly Brook Boulevard, Wethersfield, CT 06109 / Phone: 860-263-6000

Home | 
CT.gov Home Send Feedback
State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright 2002 - present year