EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS
Prohibited Places of Employment for 14 & 15 Year-Olds
The following places of employment
are not allowed for 14 & 15 year-olds:
Mercantile/solicitation (see below)*
Any other business types not listed on the
Permitted Occupation list.
*15-year old may be employed or permitted
to work in any mercantile establishment as a bagger, cashier, or stock clerk
(see P.A. 08-108)
There are some exceptions for school-to-career,
cooperative work experience, and city/town summer work-recreation programs.
Inquiries about these programs should be directed to school/town officials.
The child labor provisions of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)
apply concurrently in the State of Connecticut, and may be more restrictive. The
U.S. Department of Labor should be contacted at (860) 240-4160 for further
- $8.25 per hour (effective January 1, 2010)
Call (860) 263-6791 with wage questions.
Checklist for the
Employment of Minors in the State of Connecticut |
return to FAQs For Minors