Connecticut Department of Labor, Partner of the American Job Center Network
  Home About Us FAQ News and Notices Contact Us
Unemployment Benefits On-Line Job Seekers Employers Labor Market Information Directions/Office Information
 

 

Employee Complaint Forms

 

Employer Forms

 

Laws/Legislation

 

Manuals and Publications

 

Compliance Assistance

 

Prevailing Wages

 

Standard Wage Rates

 

Workplace Standards

 

Employment of Minors

 

FMLA

 

Joint Enforcement Commission For Worker Misclassification (JEC)

 

Stop Work Orders

 

Reports of Activities

 

FAQs

 

Newsroom

 

Contact Us

 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for minors

CLICK ON EACH QUESTION TO SHOW THE ANSWER. CLICK ON THE QUESTION AGAIN TO HIDE THE ANSWER.

1. What is the minimum wage for minors?
For minors working in agriculture or government, it is 85% of minimum wage ($8.70 as of January 1, 2014), and for minors working in other industries, it is 85% for the first 200 hours. This is covered in Section 31-58 and Section 31-58a of the CT State Statutes.
 
2. Is there a sub-minimum rate that applies to minors in Connecticut?
Yes. Minors in Connecticut may be paid 85% of Connecticut's minimum wage for the first 200 hours of employment in any industry or occupation.
 
3. What may an employee between the ages of 16 and 18 who has worked less than 200 hours and less than 90 days be paid?
Since the higher standard applies, a minor employee must be paid at least the $7.01 per hour (85% of the current minimum wage of $8.25 per hour)
 
4. Is there a checklist for minors applying for a Statement of Age/Working Papers?
Yes. Please see the "Checklist for Minors Applying for Statement of Age/Working Papers" page for more information.
 
5. What are the prohibited occupations and places of employment for all minors under the age of 18?
Please see the "Prohibited Occupations and Places of Employment for all Minors under the Age of 18 Years" page for more information.
 
6. What are the prohibited places of employment for 14 and 15 year-olds?
Please see the "Prohibited Places of Employment for 14 and 15 Year-Olds" page for more information.
 
7. What are the permitted places of employment for 14 and 15 year-olds?
Please see the "Permitted Occupations for 14 and 15 Year-Olds" page for more information.
 
8. What are the time and hour restrictions for 16 and 17 year-olds?
Please see the "Time and Hour Restrictions for 16 and 17 Year-Old Minors" page for more information.


200 Folly Brook Boulevard, Wethersfield, CT 06109 / Phone: 860-263-6000

Home | 
CT.gov Home Send Feedback<%end if%><%if cbool (request.Cookies(Application("HOME_NAME"))("AA"))=true and request.Cookies(Application("HOME_NAME"))("CA")<>"CF83CBC7" then call Session_WriteString(" | Admin") end if%>
State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2002 - 2011 State of Connecticut