Frequently Asked Questions
(FAQs) for Workers
CLICK ON EACH QUESTION TO SHOW THE ANSWER. CLICK ON THE
QUESTION AGAIN TO HIDE THE ANSWER.
- 1. What is the minimum wage?
The minimum wage is currently $8.25 per hour as of January 1, 2010.
For minors working in agriculture or government, it is 85% of minimum wage,
and for minors working in other industries, it is 85% for the first 200
hours. This is covered in
Section 31-58 and
of the CT State Statutes.
What is the minimum wage for waiters/waitresses and bartenders?
The minimum wage for waiters / waitresses and bartenders are reduced for
tips. Please see the attached chart for current and future minimum wage
rates. (See Chart)
(PDF, 15KB). IMPORTANT NOTE: All state and federal taxes are required
to be paid based on the higher amount (gross wages).
3. When is my employer required to pay me
After 40 hours of actual work in the same work week. It is calculated at one
and one-half times your regular rate of pay. This is covered under the CT
State Statutes in the following sections:
4. Am I due overtime after working 8 hours in a day, or on a
Sunday, or on a holiday?
No, unless by employment agreement.
- 5. Is my employer required to provide me a break?
Connecticut state law does not require your employer to provide you a break.
For additional information, please see "Is my employer required to provide
me a meal period?" below.
Is my employer required to provide me a meal period?
Your employer must provide you a meal period of at least 30 consecutive
minutes if you have worked for 7 and one-half or more consecutive hours. However, the
Labor Commissioner will exempt your employer from this requirement if one of
the following conditions is present:
a. complying with this requirement
would endanger public safety;
b. the duties of the position can only be
performed by one employee;
c. the employer employs less than 5 employees
on that shift at that one business location (this only applies to that
particular shift); or,
d. the employer's operation requires that
employees be available to respond to urgent conditions, and that the
employees are compensated for the meal period.
Meal period requirements are covered under
31-51ii of the
Conn. State Statutes.
7. Does my employer have to provide me vacation pay or
No. These are fringe benefits provided at the discretion of your employer.
They are not required by law.
8. Does my employer have to provide me sick pay?
Regarding sick leave or sick days, employers are required to comply with the
Paid Sick Leave Act, P.A. 11-52.
Click here to obtain
information on the Paid Sick Leave Act.
9. Can my employer cut my pay, reduce my hours or benefits, or
change my job duties?
Yes, as long as you are notified in advance of the pay period and in
writing. This is covered in the
CT General Statute Section 31-71f.
10. If I owe my employer money, or my employer wishes to deduct
from my wages errors I have made, can these wages be withheld?
No, your employer may not withhold or divert wages unless provided
specifically by law. This is covered in
CT General Statute Section 31-71e.
- 11. When must my employer pay me my wages when I am
- If you are discharged, your employer must pay you the next
business day. If you are laid off or you quit, your employer
must pay you the next regular pay day.
12. What do I do if my employer did not pay me all the money I
You can file a
Statement of Claim for Wages.
This form can be given to you at any
Connecticut Works Career Center or, you can contact the Wage and
Workplace Standards Division at (860) 263-6790. It is also available on-line
at the following link:
Statement of Claim for Wages.
Return the completed form to the address listed on the form.
200 Folly Brook Boulevard, Wethersfield, CT 06109 / Phone: 860-263-6000
| | <%end if%><%if cbool (request.Cookies(Application("HOME_NAME"))("AA"))=true and request.Cookies(Application("HOME_NAME"))("CA")<>"CF83CBC7" then
call Session_WriteString(" | ")
State of Connecticut