Connecticut Department of Labor
  Home About Us FAQ News and Notices Contact Us
Unemployment Benefits On-Line Job Seekers Employers Labor Market Information Directions/Office Information

 

A Guide to Your Rights & Responsibilities When Claiming Unemployment Benefits in Connecticut
Overpayment
 

Due to Error or Reversal

If, after having been found eligible for benefits, the CTDOL determines that you were paid in error or the Employment Security Appeals Division reverses the original decision to pay benefits, you will be liable to repay benefits that were overpaid. 

Once the decision which results in your being overpaid becomes final, you will be given the opportunity to have a hearing before an adjudications specialist regarding:

  • the exact amount of the overpayment,

  • how the overpayment should be recouped (for example, offsetting a portion - usually 50 percent - of weekly benefits); and

  • whether recovery of the overpayment can be waived because it would  be against equity and good conscience to require repayment.

   
If the immediate deduction of your benefits in the benefit year is insufficient to repay the amount you owe and you do not make full repayment, the Department of Labor will establish a repayment plan for you.  If you fail to comply with the repayment schedule, the Department of Labor may garnish your wages when you return to work.  A court-ordered wage execution can require your employer to deduct money from your wages and pay that amount directly to the Department of Labor.
 
 

Resulting from Fraud, Willful Nondisclosure or Willful Misrepresentation of a Material Fact

It is a crime to misrepresent or fail to disclose facts or to make false statements in order to obtain or increase benefits.  A number of techniques, including computerized cross-checking of earnings during weeks of unemployment, are used in Connecticut to detect fraudulent claims.

Remember - you must:

  • report all work and gross earnings, including tips;

  • report all facts affecting your availability, such as illness, confinement or self-employment;

  • report if you fail to go to a job referral or if you refuse a job.

There are severe penalties for submitting false statements or withholding  Information about employment and earnings in order to receive or increase benefits.  All work, including self-employment, must be reported when the work is performed, even if you do not receive any payment at the time. 

Violators are subject to prosecution and, if found guilty, are subject to a jail sentence of one to five years and a maximum fine of $5,000.  In addition, they MUST REPAY the amount of benefits overpaid, and may forfeit as many as thirty-nine (39) additional weeks of future benefits as an administrative penalty.  Future benefits may also be totally offset until all overpaid benefits are recovered.

   
If the immediate deduction of your benefits in the benefit year is insufficient to repay the amount you owe and you do not make full repayment, the Department of Labor will establish a repayment plan for you.  If you fail to comply with the repayment schedule, the Department of Labor may garnish your wages when you return to work.  A court-ordered wage execution can require your employer to deduct money from your wages and pay that amount directly to the Department of Labor.
 
 

In addition, other actions permitted by law may be taken.  Such actions may include, but not be limited to, criminal prosecution as well as INTERCEPTION OF ANY STATE INCOME TAX REFUND that you would otherwise receive.

return to Unemployment Insurance | return to table of contents


200 Folly Brook Boulevard, Wethersfield, CT 06109 / Phone: 860-263-6000

Home | 
CT.gov Home Send Feedback
State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright 2002 - 2016 State of Connecticut