Labor Department Breakfast Seminars Address
Unemployment Insurance, Wage and Hour Law
May 9 May 30 workshops will be held at
Agency’s Wethersfield Central Office
For immediate release
April 10, 2008
WETHERSFIELD, Two subjects of vital
interest to and impacting every employer and employee in this state –
Unemployment Insurance and the state’s Wage and Hour law – will be discussed
during May workshops taking place at the Connecticut Department of Labor's
Central Office in Wethersfield.
The first, titled Unemployment Insurance 101, will be held May 9, while
the second, titled The Essentials of Connecticut’s Wage & Hour Law,” is
scheduled for May 30.
Geared toward human resource professionals, business owners and managers,
attorneys and other employers with 50 or more employees, both seminars,
according to State Labor Commissioner Patricia H. Mayfield, are part of the
agency’s 2008 Employer Education Breakfast Seminar series.
Both sessions – each of which runs from 8 to 11 a.m. on their respective days
and will be held in Conference Rooms A, B and C – will include a continental
breakfast, along with a wealth of information designed to help employers better
understand the laws.
“We are inviting all employers to an enjoyable breakfast and to pick up some
valuable information about these two very important issues impacting every
business in this state," Mayfield explains. "What, for example, determines
benefit eligibility for Unemployment Insurance? What exactly is the so-called
‘quits and fires’ law? Our Unemployment Insurance 101 seminar will help
answer those questions and a good many more about U.I. During The
Essentials of Connecticut Wage & Hour Law seminar, we’ll talk about such
subjects as meal and break periods, how to maintain accurate records, and go
into detail about such topics as timing, frequency, deductions and hiring
Presenting the May 9 seminar will be George Wentworth, the Agency's Chief Legal
Counsel and Director of the Office of Program Policy. Facilitating “The
Essentials of Wage & Hour” seminar presenter will be Ron Marquis, Assistant
Director of the Connecticut Department of Labor’s Division of Wage and Workplace
Time will be allowed during both sessions for participant questions.
planning to attend the breakfast seminar should visit the Agency's Web site at
www.ct.gov/dol for an application that can
be downloaded and sent to the Department of Labor. The pre-registration fee for
the Unemployment Insurance 101 seminar is $25 and is due by May 2. The
pre-registration fee for The Essentials of Wage & Hour session is also
$25, and is due May 23.
questions can contact Kathy Marioni at (860) 263-6755, or via email, at
Media Contact: Nancy Steffens