Connecticut Department of Labor
  Home About Us FAQ News and Notices Contact Us
Unemployment Benefits On-Line Job Seekers Employers Labor Market Information Directions/Office Information

 

Connecticut’s Minimum Wage Increases to $8.00 on Jan. 1, 2009

For immediate release
December 11, 2008

WETHERSFIELD,  Connecticut’s minimum wage will increase to $8.00 per hour as of January 1, 2009, State Labor Commissioner Patricia H. Mayfield reminds all state residents.  The current minimum wage rate is $7.65 an hour.

"This increase to $8.00 is the first part of a two-year increase in the minimum wage,” Mayfield explains. “On Jan. 1, 2010, Connecticut’s minimum wage will, in accordance with Public Act 08-92, increase to $8.25.”

Although the federal minimum wage is currently $6.55, Gary K. Pechie, Director of the agency’s Division of Wage and Workplace Standards, emphasizes that all Connecticut businesses must pay the state’s minimum wage.

Under section 31-60 of the Connecticut General Statutes and Public Act 08-113, the Connecticut minimum wage rates for service employees, specifically, restaurant waitpersons or bartenders, are determined by using a formula that takes tip deductions into account. These rates can be found on the Connecticut Department of Labor’s Web site at www.ct.gov/dol or by contacting the Labor Department’s Division of Wage and Workplace Standards Division at
(860) 263-6790.

Media Contact: Nancy Steffens  (860) 263-6535


200 Folly Brook Boulevard, Wethersfield, CT 06109 / Phone: 860-263-6000

Home | 
CT.gov Home Send Feedback
State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright 2002 - present year