Connecticut’s Minimum Wage Increases to $8.25
Effective Jan. 1, 2010
For immediate release
December 9, 2009
WETHERSFIELD, Connecticut’s minimum wage will increase to $8.25 per hour as of
January 1, 2010, State Labor Commissioner Patricia H. Mayfield reminds all state
residents. The current minimum wage rate is $8 an hour.
increase to $8.25 is the second part of a two-year increase in the minimum
wage,” Mayfield explains. “The increase is in accordance with Public Act 08-92.”
the federal minimum wage is currently $7.25, Gary K. Pechie, Director of the
agency’s Division of Wage and Workplace Standards, emphasizes that all
Connecticut businesses must pay the state’s minimum wage.
section 31-60 of the Connecticut General Statutes and Public Act 08-113, the
Connecticut minimum wage rates for service employees, specifically, restaurant
waitpersons or bartenders, are determined by using a formula that takes tip
deductions into account. These rates can be found on the Connecticut Department
of Labor’s Web site at
www.ct.gov/dol or by contacting the Labor
Department’s Division of Wage and Workplace Standards at (860) 263-6790.
Nancy Steffens (860)