Go to the State of Connecticut Website
Governor's Seal
Governor Dannel P. Malloy
Connecticut Department of Labor
  Home About Us FAQ News and Notices Contact Us
Unemployment Benefits On-Line Job Seekers Employers Labor Market Information Directions/Office Information

 

Filing For Benefits While Working Part-Time

To receive partial benefits, you must establish monetary eligibility and:

  • You must be able to work and available for work as defined by law.
  • The number of hours you are working or worked during a week must be less than the number of hours customarily considered full-time for that job and/or employer. 
  • The reason for working less than full-time must be lack of work or because the job is part-time by choice of the employer.

How are partial Unemployment Compensation Benefits computed? Your payment for partial benefits will be figured by taking two-thirds of your gross earnings for the week claimed and deducting that amount from your Weekly Benefit Rate.

For example, if your weekly benefit rate for unemployment is $200, and you work 5 hours at $12/hour - then 2/3 of your gross earnings ($60) or $40 would be deducted from $200, leaving you a check amount of $160.  You also still must be able, available and looking for full time work. 

 

Example:

  • WBR = $200.00 

  • 5 hours X $12/hour = $60 

  • $60 – 2/3 = $40 

  • $200 - $40 = $160.00

You MUST report your gross earnings* for the week in which you worked the hours (not for the week you received your paycheck for those hours)

*Gross Earnings: wages you earn before taxes are taken out. Claimants paid hourly compute this as the hourly rate multiplied by the amount of hours worked.

 

200 Folly Brook Boulevard, Wethersfield, CT 06109 / Phone: 860-263-6000
Home | CT.gov Home Send Feedback
State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright 2002 - 2015 State of Connecticut